Deep Breath: Change is Good, Right?

Change is a natural part of life, and careers.  As you have been able to tell by the spotty and infrequent posting on The Cataloguing Librarian this past year, something must be up, right?  I mean, besides now having a one year old (picture included for those of you just *dying* to see her).

In March, I turned in my resignation at Halifax Public Libraries. It was a very difficult decision but I believe it is the right choice for me and for what I want to accomplish professionally.  It came down to how much or little I want to participate in the profession and my answer was “A LOT!!”.  In fact, participating and hopefully contributing ideas to our profession is extremely important and I want to make a difference.  Not just on a local level, but on a larger scale.  Trying to balance home  life (the desire to be the one to raise my daughter) with a full-time job as a librarian would not allow me to write, blog, speak at conferences or do any consulting;  at least, not for quite a few years.  So, I took a deep breath and made the decision.  And I’m excited!

First, I want to state that The Cataloguing Librarian blog will continue.  I just wanted to put that out there so that those of you who don’t finish reading the post beyond this point will know that I will begin to post again.

In addition to my continued interest in all things cataloguing, I’m finding that my focus in social catalogues and social technology has led me quite naturally to the area of readers’ services.  Barry Trott, as the new editor of RUSQ, was kind enough to offer me the position of column editor for the RA column in RUSQ – which I accepted eagerly before he could withdraw the offer!  So, for the next three years (and maybe longer?), I’m the column editor for that exciting column.  And, that means I may be approaching some of you to contribute your thoughts as guest writers for that column.

My first book, The Library Catalogue as Social Space was published this past winter.  And, I’m currently working on a second book that’s due to the publisher this Fall that focuses on the education and skills of cataloguers – new and “seasoned” professionals.  In particular, how social software and technology may impact the profession and what it will look like in the future.

I’ll also be teaching at Dalhousie University’s School of Information Management.  Right now,  it’s been confirmed that I’ll be teaching the Organization of Information course this Fall.  Hopefully I’ll be able to teach another one this Winter.

And, of course, I’m going to continue my consulting and contribution to NoveList in whatever capacity they offer.  As all of you know, I’m a strong supporter of NoveList and the innovative ideas they implement to connect readers to book, enhancing the experience and success of readers’ advisory in public libraries.

So, while I’m not working full-time at a public library, I am still active in the profession and eager to write, teach, share and present on an ongoing basis.

I hope many of you will continue to contact me to discuss ideas and opportunities, as well as to share your experiences and ask questions.  The Cataloguing Librarian blog will continue to explore cataloguing issues, management and profession conduct topics and readers’ services in an online environment.  It is my hope that you will continue to read the blog and provide feedback, as you have done in the past.

So, you should now start seeing more posts on this blog – which means I need to focus and get writing!

5 Comments

Filed under The Cataloguer

5 responses to “Deep Breath: Change is Good, Right?

  1. LynneW

    Hurray! Welcome back! (And thanks for the obligatory adorable photo of the two of you – looks like you’re having a great time at the beach!)

  2. Kate

    How exciting! I made the jump from academic to school librarian, and the direction change really revitalized my connection to my work. I’m looking forward to reading all about your new activities!

  3. KellyP

    Awesome! That’s inspiring. Looking forward to seeing what all you get up to.

  4. You’ve embraced change–yay! I’ll continue to follow your blog, for sure! (Love the photo, by the way!)

  5. Laurel Tarulli

    Thanks for all of the encouragement and positive comments! I’m excited about these opportunities and I think it’ll let me meet more people, experience more of the profession and keep me motivated. Using Kate’s words – it’ll revitalize my connection to the profession!

Leave a Reply

