Recommended Reading: Making the case for a fully mobile library website

As many of you know, I’m fascinated by my new iPhone and, as a result, the potential use for smartphones in libraries.

Prior to getting an iPhone, my cell phones were good for one thing – calling people. In fact, I was often teased mercilessly by my husband as he often said I hung up my cell phone by turning it off! Despite the fact that it was internet enabled, an mp3 player, camera and had additional features, I never used them and I never dreamed of using my iPhone any differently. But, the iPhone has changed my information consumption – from a laptop to my iPhone – as well as how I access contacts, photos, music, sales, my grocery list and so many other details of my life (like keeping track of my exercise schedule). My phone never leaves my side.

With the recognition that information consumption is growing (rather than creation, which still tends to be performed on laptops and home computers) and many people are using their smartphones throughout the day to manage a variety of needs, it’s essential to read articles, reports and ideas regarding how we, as librarians, can implement mobile sites that meet the standards that users of mobile phones, especially smartphones, expect.

This past Winter, Reference Services Review published the article Making the case for a fully mobile library web site: from floor maps to the catalog, by Laurie Bridges, Hannah Gashco Rempel and Kimberly Griggs. It’s definitely worth reading.

Here’s the Abstract:

The purpose of this paper is to provide an overview of the current state of worldwide mobile usage; mobile technologies; libraries’ use of mobile technologies including a review of library mobile catalog options, both vendor-supplied and in-house created; perspectives from current library leaders and innovators on the importance of incorporating the libraries’ resources into the mobile environment; and future directions for mobile library services. [Read more…]

1 Comment

Filed under Access Issues, The Library Catalogue

One response to “Recommended Reading: Making the case for a fully mobile library website

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Recommended Reading: Making the case for a fully mobile library website « The Cataloguing Librarian -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

