New Look for Cataloguing Librarian Blog

I’m playing around with some new looks for The Cataloguing Librarian blog. In September, I’ll be celebrating its 3rd anniversary and it’s time for a facelift. When I started this blog back in 2007, I didn’t know a lot about blogging, WordPress or how to make a blog “my own”. It’s time that the Cataloguing Librarian gets a new look that’s unique – even if it’s just some minor adjustments to an existing WordPress theme.

What I’m really aiming for is clear and refined look that belongs completely to this blog, rather than a theme shared by others. So, unless I get lucky on my first go around, the next couple of weeks might result in a couple of different looks until I find one I’m happy with.

However, I’ll still be blogging and, if I hit on something you like, or don’t like, please let me know!

5 Comments

Filed under The Cataloguer

5 responses to “New Look for Cataloguing Librarian Blog

  1. Since I usually follow your posts through google reader, I don’t often see the look of your blog. I love the photo of the old card file drawers – reminds me of one the first libraries I worked at: the Boreal Institute for Northern Studies.

  2. Laurel Tarulli

    Hi Lindy,
    Thanks! I took this photo while on vacation in DC. It’s a snapshot of the card catalogue that staff use for the main reading room at the Library of Congress.

    I couldn’t resist uploading it and seeing how it looks!

  3. That’s a gorgeous photo and a good representation of your blog. The rest is clean and readable, so the combined effect is a nice mix of modern and classical.

    Thumbs up!

  4. Laurel Tarulli

    Hey Daniel – thanks for the positive comments and vote for this “version” of the Cataloguing Librarian. I’m thinking I might stick with it!

Leave a Reply

