Update and Holidays Wishes

I thought I’d write a quick post to let you know that I will begin posting again regularly in the New Year. As with many of us, December is a very busy time of year, with holiday and professional commitments, deadlines and so on.

Our department, the Collection Access Department, will also be relocating in the new year – to a newly renovated branch. Very exciting, but there is a lot of work involved! I’ve also starting writing a book (the contract is signed and it is now legit!) and have commited myself to several articles as well. So, in an effort to juggle it all, I’m afraid I haven’t been posting as frequently as I’d like – especially meaningful posts. However, I’ve been collecting some topics and am optimistic I’ll draft some posts over the holidays, which I’ll start posting in January.

In the meantime, I look forward to an exciting 2010 and will be posting my professional resolutions and outlook for cataloguing in the New Year shortly. I hope you’ll continue following and contributing to the posts and discussions.

Within the next day or two, I’ll also be posting a few pictures from our famous “Glendale Christmas Potluck”. Our current location is called Glendale and I work with professionals who are not only talented in their work, but in the kitchen! Since this is our last Christmas potluck before the big move, I thought I’d share it with all of you as well.

Cataloguers tend to be a close-knit group. I’m very fortunate that my colleagues and the staff are almost like family. And as such, we have our traditions, differences of opinion and fun.

So, maybe I’ll turn this discussion over to you, the readers – do you have traditions, funny stories or interesting facts about your cataloguing departments that you’d like to share? What about holidays stories?

And, in the meantime – I wish you all a great holiday season!

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Cataloguing Department

Leave a Reply

