ALA: Chicago 2009

While many of my colleagues are already arriving in Chicago, I’ll be arriving tomorrow afternoon.  It’s my first ALA conference and, I’m told, the Chicago ones are always exciting and enjoyed by all.

While I’m there, I will be blogging about my experience as well as the sessions I attend.  This is what my schedule looks like:

Saturday, July 11th
8:00 – 10:00
EP NoveList Focus Group
10:30 – 12:00
Continuing the Conversation: A Further Exploration of the Brave New World of Metadata
1:30 – 5:30
Look Before You Leap: Taking RDA for a Test Drive

Sunday, July 12th
1:30 – 3:00
Ex Libris Primo: Redifining what it means to be “at the library” (*however, there’s also an RA session of interest at this time too)

5:30 – 7:00
ALCTS Awards Ceremony (this is where I will receive the Esther J. Piercy award!). What an honour.

Monday, July 13th
8:00 – 10:00
Resuscitating the Catalog: Next-Generation Strategies for Keeping the Catalogue Relevant.

5:00 – 6:30
Cokie Roberts – speaker series (*tenative)

For the rest of the time, I’ll be wandering through the exhibits, meeting with friends and hopefully, touring around Chicago. I hope to see some of you there!

Leave a comment

Filed under Conferences, Our Profession

Leave a Reply

