RDA: Call for examples

The highlight at APLA (for me) was Barbara Tillett’s presentation on FRBR and RDA. Given the feedback that I received from others who attended this session, I can also say that it was a highlight for many of them as well.

Barbara’s presentation was on RDA, with a twist. Not only did she explain RDA and FRBR in a way that made complete sense (and I’ve been to other RDA sessions), but she also touched on how this is something the entire profession needs to be paying attention to, not just cataloguers. This is interesting because, up until now, many librarians have brushed it aside as a cataloguing issue. Not so! How information is retrieved, what it will retrieve and how it is presented will all change. The relationship gathering is what really excites me. And, it should excite all librarians in and out of the cataloguing department.

For those of you who aren’t aware of it, RDA registries already exist on the web. So, in theory, you can start implementing RDA today.

What I really want to post here, however, are Barbara’s slides and handouts from her presentation. One of her handouts includes examples on RDA. She is looking for more – so I am putting the call out as well. If you know Barbara, please email her and give her your examples. If you have examples you’d like to share, please post them on this blog or send them to me and I will make sure she receives them.

If you look at my previous post on APLA, you’ll notice Dr. Louise Spiteri of Dalhousie also provided her thoughts on the session. I have to second everything she has to say. And, I am very happy to see that my colleagues throughout the Maritimes are very keen on RDA. So many of our colleagues are unable to attend the larger conferences due to economic constraints, however, Barbara’s willingness to attend APLA has accomplished what I had hoped – RDA and FRBR have been brought to Atlantic Canada and cataloguers have a renewed excitement toward what they do and are taking a proactive approach to their profession as a result of her visit.

We all have our moments of doubt and concern over what the future of cataloguing is bringing, but it a well thought out future, and one we can be excited about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Access Issues, future of cataloguing, The Cataloguer, The Library Catalogue

Leave a Reply

