My favourite cataloguing resource: what’s yours?

Many new cataloguers (and not so new) seek clearinghouses of cataloguing resources.  I am continually asked to point out my favourite or the ones I find most useful.  I always enjoy answering this question because there are so many resources available. Currently, LC is putting together a clearinghouse for cataloguers that will provide links to cataloguing tools, websites, professional development opportunities and much more.  As a member of this task force, I’ve been discovering some new resources and rediscovering some of my old favourites.

One of my most favourite cataloguing resources is actually a website created and maintained by Lynne LeGrow.  Lynne is a cataloguer in my department and I’m honoured to work with her.  The knowledge and keen interest Lynne has in cataloguing comes through in her work and she continually adds and revamps her website so that it remains current and useful.

So, while my colleagues and I continue to create a clearinghouse for all of you, I hope you enjoy Lynne’s website and find it useful.  And, of course, when this clearinghouse is complete, I’ll be posting the link here.

In the meantime, I would be very interested in having you share your favourite cataloguing tools and web resources.  Given the amount of people I’ve spoken to who are new to the profession, I think this would be great!  Also, if there are web resources we’ve missed for LC’s clearinghouse, I can add them.

2 Comments

Filed under Cataloguing tips, The Cataloguer

2 responses to “My favourite cataloguing resource: what’s yours?

  1. Hi Laurel,

    I think OCLC’s Bibliographic Formats and Standards (http://www.oclc.org/bibformats/default.htm) is a great cataloging resource. Even if you are not an OCLC member, the introductory how-to chapters and all the MARC coding information is very helpful and nicely laid out. I wish all cataloging web tools were as user-friendly.

    BTW, I’m happy to say something positive about OCLC given all the bad press they’re getting these days 🙂

    Chris

  2. Laurel Tarulli

    Thanks Chris! Good choice. I also refer to that site frequently.

    Here are a few more of my favourites:
    Cataloguer’s Toolbox http://staff.library.mun.ca/staff/toolbox

    LC’s MARC Standards
    http://www.loc.gov/marc/

    Useful Links for Cataloguing Librarian
    Nanyang Technological University Library
    http://www3.ntu.edu.sg/lib/lis/cat.htm

Leave a Reply

